Monkey See, Monkey Do!

Warning! Feelings are about to be shared! These are my opinions and in way do I believe that everyone should always take my side! But if I don’t put my feelings in writing I bottle them up and explode on someone! So here it goes.

Today, as I was feeding Titus, I was scrolling through a mom group on Facebook. One of the mother’s made a post on the group wanting to know how to get silly putty out of her carpets. Saying that it was her child that did it. I understand, I would be really annoyed and upset as well! But it was the fact that she didn’t call her child by their name or even just saying that it was her child, she called them “demon spawn”! I’m sorry, I get that kids are hellions. At age 14 both sets of my parents had another child each! Then 2 years later 1 set of parents had another child. That is 3 siblings under the age of 2 by the time I was 16. I have helped raise them like I was their own mother! I know how children can be! But in no way would I call them a “demon spawn” verbally or on a website where anyone can read it! This is not the first time I have seen another mother call their child something that is barbaric in my eyes! I am a new parent so I may sound naïve, but having children has always been a dream of mine! When I was younger, when they would ask what I wanted to be when I grew up I would answer with a mom! I have always loved babies and children! Now that I have my own bundle of joy my heart feels like it may explode every time I look at him. Every time I sing “You Are My Sunshine” to him I start crying from happiness! Will he always be this wonderful baby? No! But I still can never imagine call them such names! It just seems like, dare I say, verbal abuse! Children hang on your every word! Whether you say it, write it, or type it! Watch what you say, soon they will be repeating what you say, becoming who you are and you can’t punish them for it!

Monkey see, monkey do!

 

One thought on “Monkey See, Monkey Do!

  1. I absolutely agree. I have a 16 yr old, 13 yr old, 5 year old, and 6month old and I have never called them any negative/ugly/mean names. And life is hard sometimes but there’s still no reason to be like that. I love my children dearly and I could never think, let alone say or write, anything like that! 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

